In some of your ads, you want to show multiple messages one by one. For this, you can use so-called “slides”. In this tutorial, we’ll explain how you can use slides to show messages and organize your elements in the timeline. 

What are slides?
First, let us explain what slides actually are. Think of your main timeline separated in multiple sections. By default, every ad has one slide and every slide has a timeline from 0 to 3 seconds. This means that if you add another slide without modifying the timeline, you’ll have two slides, both with a duration of 3 seconds, which means that the total duration of your ad is 6 seconds. 

You can add up to 6 slides because the Bannerwise timeline has a maximum duration of 30 seconds. This means that you’ll only be able to add or duplicate slides if the total duration is less than 30 seconds. 

Using slides: duplicating, deleting or adding

Now, look at the lower part of your screen. Here, you will see the timeline. Just above it, you will find the “slides” button.  There are three options here: you can duplicate a slide, delete it or add an empty slide. 

Now, open one of your ad sets and navigate to the “single view”. Add two basic elements, for example, a background and a button. We will start using slides by duplicating a slide. 

Step 1: Duplicating slides
You often use a duplicate of a slide when you are sure the next slide will look almost or exactly the same as the first slide. This way you don’t have to spend time recreating the slide and its animations. First, look at the timeline again and find the “slides” section just above. Click on the “duplicate icon” in the slide tab. You will see the slide duplicated itself, and the timespan of your ad doubled. Click the “duplicate icon” once more. As you can see, the timespan keeps increasing. 

Step 2: Slide linking
By default, all slides are connected to each other. This means that when you duplicate a slide, the elements that are the same are linked. So, when you update an element in Slide 1, it will also change in Slide 2, and so on. When you don’t want your elements to change on more than one slide, you have to unlink them first.

For this, you have to click on the “(un)link icon” located right in between two slides. Then, you can make changes to elements independently. If you want to re-link the slides, simply click the “(un)link icon” once more. The slides are now linked again.

Nice to know
Not all element properties are linked by default. The ones that do, are: 

  • Top position of the element
  • Left position of the element
  • Width of the element
  • Height of the element
  • Image and Logo source (the image selected when adding an element)
  • Text and font properties

Step 3: Deleting a slide
You have just duplicated and unlinked your first slides. Now, we will explain how you can easily remove a slide. When you are not happy with one or more slides, you can delete them by clicking the “bin icon”. When you have accidentally deleted a slide, you can undo this action by clicking on the “undo icon” on the top of your screen.

Optional: Adding an empty slide
In addition to duplicating a slide, you also have the option to add an empty slide. This comes in handy when your next slide uses totally different elements than the slide you are currently working on. You can add an empty slide by clicking on the “add slide” button located next to the slide tabs.

That’s all for now!

Want to learn more? Check out the following tutorials:

Did this answer your question?