You’re getting more and more ‘in the know’ when it comes to creating HTML5 ads. To guide you even further, we would now like to explain the concept of “slides”. In this section of the Beginner’s Guide, we will cover the basics of this concept and how you can use it to your benefit. 

Part I: The concept of slides

Some ad layouts require multiple messages to show and hide, one by one. For that reason, you can use so-called “slides” to organize your elements and timeline. By using slides, you will also be able to easily make changes to all your ads simultaneously in the “all view”

When you think of slides in Bannerwise, you should imagine your main timeline separated in multiple sections. By default, every ad has one slide and every slide has a timeline from 0 to 3 seconds. This means that if you add another slide without modifying the timeline, you’ll have two slides, both with a duration of 3 seconds, which means that the total duration of your ad is 6 seconds. 

Keep in mind that the Bannerwise timeline has a maximum duration of 30 seconds. This means that you’ll only be able to add or duplicate slides if the total duration is less than 30 seconds. 

Part II: Duplicating, deleting or adding slides

Now, look at the lower part of your screen. Here, you will see a timeline. Just above it, you will find the “slides”.  There are three options here: you can duplicate a slide, delete it or add an empty slide. 

Duplicating slides
Duplicating a slide is one of the most common practices of using slides. When you are sure your next slide will look almost or exactly the same as the first slide, you can duplicate it. This way you don’t have to spend time recreating the slide and its animations. You can easily duplicate a slide by clicking on the “duplicate icon” in the slide tab.

Once your slide is duplicated you’ll notice not only your elements, but also the animations are duplicated. Now you can safely update the content and animations of your elements. 

Slide linking
By default, all slides are connected to each other. This means that elements that are the same in both slides are linked. When elements are linked, they share a specific set of properties that can be adjusted in all slides simultaneously. For example, if an element is linked and you reposition the element in slide 1, the element position will also be repositioned in slide 2. 

When you don’t want your elements to change on more than one slide, you have to unlink the slides. You do this by clicking on the “(un)link icon” located right in between two slides.  Then, you can make changes to elements independently. If you want to re-link the slides, simply click the “(un)ink icon” once more. The slides are now linked again. 

Not all element properties are linked. The ones that do, are: 

  • Top position of the element
  • Left position of the element
  • Width of the element
  • Height of the element
  • Image and Logo source (the image selected when adding an element)
  • Text and font properties 

Deleting a slide
When you are not happy with one or more slides, you can easily delete them by clicking the “bin icon”. When you have accidentally deleted a slide, you can undo this action by clicking on the “undo icon” on the top of your screen. 

Adding an empty slide
In addition to duplicating a slide, you also have the option to add an empty slide. This comes in handy when your next slide uses totally different elements than the slide you are currently working on. You can add an empty slide by clicking on the “add slide” button located next to the slide tabs.

Discover more
Now you know how to use slides, you’re basically a Bannerwise professional. To put your newfound knowledge to the test, why not start building? For this, you can also check out our Tours or Tutorials. Enjoy!

Did this answer your question?